## FELLOW AWARD

## Qualifications and Procedures for Nomination of the Fellow Award

*Purpose:* To recognize significant contributions to the wood science and technology profession and service to the Society by SWST members.

*SWST Fellow Qualifications:* The criteria for election to this distinction are significant contributions to the Society of Wood Science and Technology and the wood science and technology profession while being a voting member of SWST.

Significant contributions to the Society of Wood Science and Technology include activities that demonstrate continuing commitment and leadership to SWST. Leadership commitment should include some of the following:

(1) Past president of SWST; (2) Election to SWST Board of Directors for two terms; or (3) Numerous terms of service, including committee chair or committee member.

Significant professional accomplishments include refereed publications and professional presentations that advance wood science and technology in the regional, national, or international area over a 15-year period "Promoting the Profession."

An SWST member may be nominated for the membership rank of SWST Fellow by any other SWST voting member. The nomination will be reviewed by the Past Presidents' Council. The Council will make recommendation to the Executive Board by March 1 of each year. Election to the rank of SWST Fellow will require a majority vote of the SWST Board of Directors.

All nominations for the rank of SWST Fellow must be forwarded to the SWST Executive Director and must include a letter of nomination and a resumé with SWST and wood science and technology professional contributions by the nominee. All members elected to the membership rank of SWST Fellow will be announced at the annual meeting and will be presented an appropriate plaque by the SWST President.

The recipient of this year's award is Robert W. Rice.

Past recipients of the award include:

James I. Bowyer Robert L. Youngs J. David Barrett A. William Boehner Robert W. Erickson Geza Ifju Fred A. Kamke Helmuth Resch Howard N. Rosen James B. Wilson Gib Comstock Everett Ellis John G. Haygreen Robert J. Hoyle, Jr. Duane Lyon Thomas M. Maloney E. Allen McGinnes Arno P. Schniewind Christen Skaar Otto Suchsland Fred W. Taylor Wil Côté Robert Kennedy William T. Nearn Richard J. Thomas Warren S. Thompson Thomas McLain Frank C. Beall J. David Barrett W. Ramsey Smith