PROFESSIONAL PAGES

SUMMARY OF AWARDS PRESENTED AT 2019 SWST CONVENTION IN YOSEMITE, CALIFORNIA

GEORGE MARRA EXCELLENCE IN WRITING

The George Marra Award is given in memory of George Marra by the Marra family in recognition of George's devotion to excellence in writing. Every article in each issue of the most recent volume of *Wood and Fiber Science* is read and judged by a committee. This year's committee consisted of Brian Bond, VA Tech, Chair; David Jones, Consultant; Eini Lowell, USDA Forest Service PNW Station; and Mehdi Tajvidi, University of Maine. This year's winners are as follows:

First Place

Gu H, Bergman R, Anderson N, Alanya-Rosenbaum S (2019) Life Cycle Assessment of

Activated Carbon from Wood Biomass. Wood Fiber Sci 50(3):229-243.

Second Place

Rammer DR, Zelinka SL, Hasburgh LE, Craft ST (2019) *Ability of Finger-Jointed Lumber to Maintain Load at Elevated Temperatures*. Wood Fiber Sci 50(1):44-54.

Third Place

McKinley P, Kamke FA, Sinha A, De Andrade V, Jakes JE (2019) *Analysis of Adhesive Penetration into Wood Using Nano-X-ray Computed Tomography*. Wood Fiber Sci 50(1):66-76.

STUDENT POSTER COMPETITION AWARD

The purpose of the Student Poster Competition is to encourage student membership and participation in SWST, encourage student attendance at the SWST International Convention, recognize excellence in student research, and improve the visibility of student research efforts. A committee of four judges on a 100-point scale using the following criteria evaluated the abstracts and poster presentations:

Submitted Abstract

- 1. Soundness of research hypothesis (10 points)
- 2. Scientific writing ability (10 points)
- 3. Organization (10 points)

Poster Presentation

- 1. Scientific merit (newness, breadth of interest, and potential impact of the research) (15 points)
- 2. Experimental design and thoroughness of investigation (15 points)
- 3. Validity of conclusions (15 points)
- 4. Organization and visual quality of presentation (15 points)
- 5. Response to questions of judges (10 points)

This year's panel of Student Poster judges were Gloria Oporto, WV University, Chair; Michael Burnard, InnoRenew CoE and University of Primorska; Alain Cloutier, Université Laval; Nan Nan, WV University; and Sheldon Shi, University of North Texas.

Student Poster Winners

1st Place

Qijun Zhang, University of Tennessee, United States.

A Novel Method for Fabricating an Electrospun Polyvinyl Alcohol/Cellulose Nanocrystals Composite Nanofibrous Filter with Low Air Resistance for High-efficiency Filtration of Particulate Matter

2nd Place

Aitor Barbero-López, University of Eastern Finland, Finland.

Activity of Organic Acids and Their Synergy Against the Wood-Decaying Fungus Coniophora puteana

3rd Place

Tianyu Cao, Northeast Forestry University, China.

Study on VOCs Emissions from Veneered Plywood at Closed Circumstances

Jiyao Hu, University of North Texas, United States.

The Effect of Pore Size on Specific Capacitance for Activated Carbon Supercapacitors

Special Recognition

Brooklyn Legg, Oregon State University, United States.

Industry 4.0 Readiness in the US Forestry Industry

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

The SWST Distinguished Service Award is given in recognition of distinguished service to the profession as a whole and for extraordinary contributions in wood science and technology. Such service may have been made in any educational, technological, scientific, or professional area directly related to the profession of Wood Science and Technology in furtherance of the objectives of the Society as outlined in its Constitution and Bylaws. Guidelines for the award can be found at http://www.swst.org/wp/awards/award-distinguished-service-profession-wood-science-technology/. The 2019 winner is **James W. Funck**, retired from the APA-The Engineered Wood Association.

FELLOW AWARD

The Fellow Award recognizes significant contributions to the wood science and technology profession and service to the Society by SWST members. Guidelines and past recipients can be found at http://www.swst.org/wp/awards/swst-fellow-award/. The 2019 winner is **Alain Cloutier**, Université Laval, Québec, Canada.

AWARDS OF ACCREDITATION

Department of Wood Science and Engineering, College of Materials and Engineering, South China Agricultural University, Guangzhou, China, June 2019.

Wood Science and Technology Program, Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources & Design, WV University, Morgantown, WV, April 2019.